What I learned in 2007

This is a little late, but I’ve been playing beginning of the year catch up. I believe that its important to do this kind of self-reflection at the end of every year.

I don’t miss working with Sharepoint -No, really, I don’t.

I lot of patience with change goes a long way – I have to constantly remind myself that change and getting people to adopt to change doesn’t happen overnight.

I need to get out more – working from home has made me sort of a hermit. There are some days when I feel a little more Boo Radleyish than others. The holidays was hard because other than my immediate family I didn’t really talk to other human beings.

I need to find more new friends or acquaintances – I started interacting more with social networking sites in our ‘profession’ on the web. I’v just started dabbling but I need to engage more. I find that being exposed to people who are more open to technological advances in learning actually re-inspires me and keeps me going when I feel down.

Things I want to do more this year:

  • Go to the actual library – I’ve been hearing that libraries are becoming pretty interesting places to hang out. Seems like many librarians are on the up and up when it comes to employing 2.0 technologies.
  • Start a podcast – not sure what it will be about yet…  I was thinking of doing a knitting through history/comedy podcast. I know that doesn’t sound fun to most people, but i’ve been thinking about tinkering around with podcasting more.
  • Volunteer more at my local public school – I need to get started back with volunteering for the SMART program. I’ve done it in the past and it’s great fun. Plus, the kids are wonderful to work with
  • Don’t spend as much time on the internet – Do you think I have a theme running here? Get out, meet people, don’t always have your eyes pasted on a screen.
3 Responses to “What I learned in 2007”


  1. 1 jltitus January 4, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Thanks for the reflective thoughts. Makes me want to get back into writing on my professional blog. I SO agree about the hermit factor when working from home. There have been times I haven’t left the house all week. Crazy for someone as social as I. I agree too the need to find more new friends. I’ve been looking at clubs, etc I can get involved with this year so maintain a life outside the four walls of my house.

    Funny you should mention podcasts too. I’ve been thinking about the same but sadly, I don’t know what I’d even podcast about. Lots of ideas but not sure they’d make for good podcasts or vodcasts.

    Maybe you and I need to set a date and meet a couple times a month or something, like once in NE, once in SW or something..

  2. 2 bcmajor January 5, 2008 at 4:31 am

    Thanks for your post. I also work from home (over 2 years now) and if it weren’t for me bringing my kids to school, I would probably never leave the house. Its terrible how easy it is not to talk to people. I like your idea of going to the library – I did that a few times last year and really enjoyed just having people around while I worked. I have also found that I waste too much time on the internet instead of talking to my “real” friends – that is sad and I need to change that.

    If you truly don’t miss Sharepoint and are looking for something else, you might want to check out SiteScape ICEcore. It is an open source project and can be downloaded for free at http://www.icecore.com/. I am trying it out now with one of my virtual teams and it seems to be working out for us so far.

    Good luck with your resolutions for 2008!

  3. 3 Alvin January 6, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    i din know you’re working on Sharepoint. 🙂 I’m working on Vignette…ever heard of it? I doubt *sighs*.

    Maybe i should come out with my own list of resolution and put it up in my blog. LOL

    Happy new year to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,322 hits

