Friday Fun: What American Civil War General Are You?

Okay, it just occurred to me that this might not be fun for a lot of people, but being an old Civil War story addict it was for me.

So, I am General William Tecumsah Sherman… at least I wasn’t George McClellan. For some reason that guy just didn’t sit right with me. Though to be honest if you look at the gamut of all the Civil War Generals: Grant, Sherman, Lee, Hood, Forest, Sheridan, Johnston, Jackson, etc. Each of them had qualities that would have made great leaders in any organization. Grant was a get it done kind of fellow. Lee was a creative strategist who realized that to gain an advantage you needed by taking long chances. He recognized that they were at a disadvantage and that they could only win through a strategy of long chances. Also, each of them had some faults that could bring down any organization. I particularly wasn’t a big fan of both Forrest or Sherman & Sheridan’s championing of institutionalized violence and racism after the war was over.


Which Civil War General are You?


William Tecumseh Sherman: Widely thought to be insane by most journalists for hating their questions, Sherman has been called one of the first generals to understand modern war. His theory was that to win the war, the Union must break the Confederate’s will to fight, as well as their means to carry on the war. Needless to say, burning his way across Georgia and South Carolina did not earn him esteem from his opponents.The phrase “War is Hell” is Sherman’s. He is often considered callous to human loss of life, though in his mind the quicker the war could be won, the less lives that would be lost in the long run.
Take this quiz!


Quizilla |
Join

| Make A Quiz | More Quizzes | Grab Code

4 Responses to “Friday Fun: What American Civil War General Are You?”


  1. 1 seacat November 10, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Some of my friends laugh at my so-called BQOD–Big Question of the Day, but lordie, girl, this one’s a doozy. What a great question. I’ll be gnawing on it for a while.

  2. 2 naturalelegance November 12, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Apparently, I’m Ulysses S. Grant. Figures.

  3. 3 nkilkenny November 12, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Grant was a cool figure. He was apparently amazing in crises.

  4. 4 Amy Strecker November 15, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    I was a Sherman too. Hummmm…

    However, I will send this on to my US History teacher friends because it would make for a fun activity.

    Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 282,642 hits

