The world is flat.. so move your tookus

The world is flat… and now my rear grows.

NO joke.  Working in this sedentary lifestyle can really get to you and the pounds can pile on regardless of your metabolism or diet. I haven’t found a gym around here yet that I like that’s close enough to me (old neighborhood), so I have just resorted to walking the dog and playing the wii. Ah, my dear Wii.  It’s been two months since it was in it’s rightful place in the living room. My husband moved it to the bedroom so he could play Zelda and Paper Mario from bed while he was sick, but somehow he got so accustomed to it that that it stayed there for a few months.

I protested for a while…

But it’s a Wii… you’re supposed to stand up, move around, jump up and down, dance with it.

If you want to play lame games where you just sit down then play the X-box.

Somehow my persistence prevailed an now the Wii is back where it belongs.  I try to take 10-15 minute breaks in between work to stand up play few short games that allow me to use my body somewhat.

The Wii isn’t just about re-connecting with physical motion in this digital age, it’s about making connections with people and family members. Mark Milliron who gave the first Key Note address at the Distance Learning Conference noted how a grandfather was actually meeting his grandson on line three times a week to go bowling. I’m still waiting for Christy to get her Wii so we can play tennis online 🙂 Imagine that you can do team-building games with your virtual team on this technology.

wiifamily.jpg

 Other interesting notes:

Posting about using the wii for lunchtime teambuilding.  I actually did this at my old job and it was quite fun. Everyone had a blast and they were able to take a break from being stressed out.

2 Responses to “The world is flat.. so move your tookus”


  1. 1 Christy Tucker August 16, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    You made me giggle. 🙂 I read the bit about me getting a Wii to Dave and told him we’ll just have to order one now.

    Seriously, though, I have put on about 20 pounds since I left CEC and the job where I was constantly going from meeting to meeting. I used to do a much better job of getting out for walks for an afternoon breaks, but the heat this summer has just sapped all my motivation. I’m really hoping that the Wii will be motivating enough for me to get some exercise. I think having scheduled time to play tennis with you would actually really help; it’s sort of the same idea as going with a friend to the gym.

    Dave and I also were talking last night that our first preferences for exercise (swimming for him and bicycling or walking for me) aren’t things we tend to do together. We could, of course, but we don’t enjoy each other’s activities as much. We’re hoping that the Wii might give us some games that we would both enjoy and could play together. I think we’re hoping for some time for connection, too.

    Now, don’t let Eric move it back to the bedroom again!

  2. 2 nkilkenny August 17, 2007 at 12:50 am

    We enjoy playing WarioWare together… there are definitely some games he likes and some I like. I like doll-house type games like Elebits, he likes some of the more violent games and the quest games like Zelda. But competing at golf and bowling is still really fun.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,411 hits

