Is this TRUE?!!? Are they shutting down Internet Radio?

I’ve been hearing rumblings about this and part of me has pushed it to the back of my mind because I couldn’t bring myself to believe it…. Are they really closing down internet radio?  Are podcasters next?

What do we do? Writing to our senators and congressmen may be too late at this point.  I still have to gather what this completely means to us, the lovers of the free net and free culture, but my gut tells me, it can’t be good. And my gut has rarely been wrong.

I’ll keep you posted on the buzz on this when I can.

4 Responses to “Is this TRUE?!!? Are they shutting down Internet Radio?”


  1. 1 jltitus June 28, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Don’t know if it’s true or not. I hope not. I’m listening to Pandora today, as I do most days and it’s still on. You do make a good point if “the powers that be” maybe internet radio pay huge fees, what IS next? If podcasts get hit, were all in trouble. The very element that embodies web 2.0 we’d have to pay for? Is nothing free anymore? Will they start charging for us to post to others blogs… ahh… I digress…

  2. 2 Rory June 29, 2007 at 10:36 am

    This has been in the works since the beginning of 2007 – where the Copyright Board at the LOC proposed raising fees. There are a couple of catches here. 1) the fees will be per song per listener per show. 2) the fees will be retroactive to Jan 2007, which means that IR stations would owe tons of back $$.

    This is (once again) a case of folks in positions of power in Wash DC that just don’t get the dynamic, fluid web; and who think that they can somehow regulate or control “all the tubes.”

    http://learnlearnlearn.wordpress.com/2007/03/17/so-long-pandora-launchcast-aol-radio-it-was-nice-but-internet-radio-is-just-going-to-go-away-so-much-for-us-leadership-in-tech/

  3. 3 nkilkenny June 29, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Maybe it frightens them… these free flowing tubes. Whenever cultures, peoples, countries connect, massive change can occur.

  4. 4 Christy Tucker July 2, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    /. has a link to some updates on this. It looks like there will be a compromise of some sort to keep it going.
    http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=07/07/02/061241&from=rss

    Note: the supposed link to the DMA response is a NSFW image. Not sure if it was the wrong link or if it just was hacked.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,523 hits

