I need a new laptop bag!

I was in the bank today and the strap on my laptop bag/purse broke for the third time. I didn’t even have a laptop in it. So right now instead of thinking about how to fix it again, I’m throwing in the towel and looking for a better quality and probably more expensive model.karamessenger.jpg

A possible candidate: Kara B’s Messenger Bag

Here’s my dilemma. I do not want a bag that sends out the vibe, “I have the style and fashion sense of an engineer who was raised in a closet without fashionable clothes.” I’ve lived in the northwest for quite sometime now, and I find myself opting for wearing things that are not so smart or chic… only because making and effort makes you look like a hipster who’s trying too hard… or someone who got to the Good Will before the eBay scroungers hit. But I will not skimp when it comes to a laptop bag. While I’d love to carry this around… or this.

I still I have to be practical.

  • I need some something that is smart looking
  • I like pretty colors
  • I need something that will take a pounding
  • I need something that carries a lot of stuff…including tech equipment such as simple microphones, recording devices, gadgets, my Nintendo DS, and yes, all the other techno accoutrements that I have. In this day an age, many of us have become our own version of Batman
  • I don’t want something that screams, “Steal me because not only am I a 100% Italian leather, I’ve got a lot of expensive crap inside.”
  • I need something with an extra pouch that can fit my knitting (small-medium sized projects)
  • I’m probably leaning towards this bag in a custom color…

Am I carrying a laptop or delivering a baby?
expensive.jpg


5 Responses to “I need a new laptop bag!”


  1. 1 jltitus April 18, 2007 at 5:52 am

    You are so funny. You know there are a ton of different bags to choose from out there. I saw some really nice ones at Office Max the other day but I didn’t open any of them to get a look.

  2. 2 Christy Tucker April 18, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    You could check out Mango Tango. That’s where Pam sent me for my bag for my work laptop. I went with the eggplant slim faux suede myself, but that wouldn’t be big enough for what you need. I’m not sure if any of them will be exactly what you want, but you could look.

    Also, Ideal Bite has done several tips on eco-friendly and fashionable bags. Do a search for laptop bag in the tip library and you’ll find several ideas. http://www.idealbite.com

  3. 3 nkilkenny April 18, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Thanks all for the suggestions. I really can’t settle for anything too fancy or impractical. It’s good to be able to haul things around in the rain around here. I’ve also committed myself to not using the car during the week days unless I absolutely needed to for Dr’s appointments, etc., so this means walking several blocks to the local coffee shop when I need a change of scenery from working from home.

  4. 4 Anti-m April 18, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Oh man, I’ve been on a quest for a laptop bag since FOREVER! I have the added problem of wanting it to be a backpack. (I don’t like wearing a bag on only one shoulder.) I blew big money on one I hate, and now I’m resolved to make one. Check out THISwoman’s homemade bag!

  5. 5 nkilkenny April 18, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Her bag is gorgeous… I like the lining. However my skills as a seamstress are lacking. I know the Timbuktu bag is really Norwester, but it seems like a good idea for me. I need pockets. I hate fishing around for my ipod or my cel, that lipstick… and I do well with bags that have a clip for my keys.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,322 hits

