Life on Mars: The Ultimate Cop Show

I’ve become a serious fan of this show. In another life, and another place (blog), I commented that Gene Hunt the Detective Chief Inspector actually embodies the great figure of a leader. Flawed, leader but a good leader nevertheless. Now, of course I’m not implying that we in the business world should just walk in the door, bully and raging with a potty mouth that could make Red Foxx blush. But there is some value and looking back at the past and what worked in the past and understanding why it worked. Of course, today the Gene Hunt style of leadership just wouldn’t wash. But there are some qualities in his persona and character that exemplify great leadership such as taking responsibility for the actions of his underlings.

I really can’t explain why I’m drawn to this show like a moth to a bulb. Other than… it’s just really well-written, I dig the characters, and the show obviously is a labor of vision and love. Plus, the soundtrack rocks. Too bad they didn’t make one of those old fashioned aluminum lunch boxes for the series. I’d be the first in line.

Series 2 Trailer:

Video Tribute:

Watch the creators explain how the show was developed:

Part one:

Part two:

0 Responses to “Life on Mars: The Ultimate Cop Show”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 277,930 hits

