My new life and farewell

I’m on my way to start a new life, new work… and quite excited about it. I had dinner with a group of friends last night to celebrate the final ending of my old job. I officially handed in my badge and laptop this week. It felt great, mainly because I can start again and because I have a great deal to look forward to.

What I’ll miss: Being in regular contact with some excellent people who not only are life-long learners who value innovation and creativity above just having a steady job, but are just top-notch human beings. More, it’s just important I will miss being able to laugh and enjoy their company on a regular basis.

I truly feel that I was able to soar and progress in both my profession and as person because I found people who I could not only relate to, but from whom I could learn a great deal. More often than not these folks had passion about what they were interested that was contagious. I can proudly say that I was blessed because I looked forward to come into work because I could hang around or learn from these wonderful people. It fired me up and excited about doing new and creative things at my job. To the chagrin of the other people who were ‘heads-down’ in their cubicles around us… we had many lively conversations in the cube aisles.

What I won’t miss: Bullies. Politics exists everywhere where more than two people exist… and in the case of multiple personalities. As animals we’re rigged up that way. But being hindered by the politics of a large and semi-established body or organization is something I’m glad to leave. Somehow or other, I also felt that the system of rewarding people at some large companies fosters a culture of bullies. A bully is simply someone (at any level of the organization) who insists of getting their way regardless of the cost to others and the organization. Bullies can be dangerous when their motivation to bully comes from their fear of change and they can be plain destructive when they make the ranks of management.

Political correctness and human relations initiatives simply muted and camouflaged the efforts of bullies. More it made it difficult for their victims to be able to call out their actions. Also, when you’re rewarded for how many times your name appears on something… the bully often has the edge because they can edge their way into projects and claim that they were essential to success. More often than not the bully is vocal and visible so management remembers their names when it comes to promotions and ranking and rating.

So why not confront the bully? Constructive confrontation isn’t always practiced when you will not make the effort as management to make sure that it will not hold their employees responsible for acting to the codes of conduct that constructive confrontation maintains. In order to develop a truly strong and prosperous work environment, I firmly believe that all members from leaders to individual in an organization need to buck up and take the bully by the horns. Once you develop a culture driven by bullies, it’s a short road to lower earnings.

What I have to look forward to:

Everything!

bonvoyage.jpg

Embarking on a new life is like christening a ship…. it’s a maiden voyage and there’s a great deal that could go wrong. But the mere excitement of seeing and experiencing new things is why we venture out on these trips… plus with new beginnings the slate is open and the possibilities are endless. I had a really great geometry teacher once, who counseled me that there are always multiple ways to solving a problem and that I should look for them.

Nuggets:

4 Responses to “My new life and farewell”


  1. 1 Christy Tucker April 8, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    Workplace bullying sucks, and I think it’s an issue we don’t talk about and acknowledge enough. The Workplace Bullying Institute has good information and resources for anyone in a bad situation or wanting to learn more. I’m glad you are getting out of that environment, even though it’s clear that you had other great coworkers you will miss.

    I am very excited to have you joining us though! I hope that you will be happy–I really do love it.

  2. 2 Shannon April 9, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Congratulations on getting out of a poisonous environment. It’s difficult to change ingrained behaviors, especially in organizations. The organization definitely doesn’t benefit, though, as their best and brightest will surely jump ship, just as you have done. Good luck in the next phase!

  3. 3 haxa April 10, 2007 at 5:10 am

    i wish you all the best in your new undertaking. i already miss your innovative drive and creativity. continue the great Design for Learning blogging focus. you’re building good reputation among practicing instructional designers and learnng technologists alike. keep in touch!

  4. 4 nkilkenny April 10, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Thanks for the kind words all. Haza, you know I’m only an e-mail away đŸ™‚ Also, I might add… I probably wouldn’t have stayed as long as I did if I didn’t have good direct management acting as a good ‘buffer’ and giving me good guidance. Sadly, what’s happening is they’ve thinned the management and while this is in theory a great thing to reduce the size of management… it’s not a good thing to let go of good managers. Sometimes good managers are ones that stand up to the boss and suggest alternatives. If the boss isn’t happy with this and doesn’t tolerate it… then you breed a culture of “Yes” men…. and we all know where that leads.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 282,642 hits

