My love of all things Wii

I love the Wii!  I usually not so gung-ho about products, but when I am I can’t stop singing their praises. The Wii is just too much fun and is super easy to hold and use. Some of the movement and actions simulated isn’t exact. I do worry that getting accustomed to the swing motions in the golf and tennis game will affect my actual ability to perform in the real arenas. I few weeks ago I saw a clip on the Conan O’Brien show where Conan challenged Serena Williams to a quick match of Wii tennis.  Of course O’Brien won.   I noticed very quickly when I was playing tennis that using a real swing doesn’t actually put you to an advantage in the Wii world.

Still, I don’t think I can ever go back to the old type of gaming system other than for brief nostalgic fixes.  Alas, even my Nintendo DS sits on my nightstand gathering dust.

But wait there’s more!  I’m super psyched to see this as well… a Wii gun remote.  I’m a really big fan of shooting gallery games.  I’ve been reading that it’s not that strange to see more and more women into gaming. I’m just excited that can actually be a little more active and play games at the same time. Not to mention, it’s fun to have people over and pay Wii… it becomes a social activity which is quite fun. Though if you’re guest have a few cocktails make sure they fasten the wrist strap securely 🙂

Note:

Flint tool cartoon is from this page at the Flints and Stones: Real Life in Prehistory site.

3 Responses to “My love of all things Wii”


  1. 1 Alvin April 4, 2007 at 1:00 am

    Seriously speaking, I am in favor of PS3 (i’m a Playstation fan)……but after looking at so many good feedbacks on WII (the low price influences a little too)….i feel like getting one for myself.

    Try search for WII controller in SAP’s web site and you might find something interesting. Apparently, there’s a group of “techies” in one of SAP’s partner company trying to use the WII controller as a “wireless mouse” for a projector…or something like that. They have a short demo for it. Looks cool.

  2. 2 nkilkenny April 4, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks for the tip, Alvin. I will check it out. I’ve heard that there are some people who are trying to adapt the Wii remote for other and helpful purposes. This happens with most great inventions… people build on the great foundation and create even more wonderful things.

  3. 3 Alvin April 5, 2007 at 1:06 am

    That’s the wonder of technology. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 277,910 hits

