Stronger Teams Blog

I’m becoming a bigger fan of this blog each time I visit.

http://strongerteams.wordpress.com/

Here’s a great post on “Using short-hand communication within teams.”  It’s true if outsiders are incorporated into a team it may take some time for them to learn the team’s language and vocabulary…. can we say… ACRONYMS?

Another great post on ” 8 essential elements for trusting teams.” Social exchanges, showing enthusiasm, & using technology. We work in a global and virtual environment the first item is the hardest to achieve.  I’d be really interested in learning about more ways to make the social exchange happen better with virtual and international teams.

2 Responses to “Stronger Teams Blog”


  1. 1 Rory March 2, 2007 at 2:31 am

    Wow! Cool! thanks for this blog recommendation. I transitioned to a new firm a little more than one year ago. I thought my former employer was riddled with acronyms … but my new firm takes the cake in relation. I’m still not used to it all.

    One of the difficulties as I work in a very large firm, is that when teams become so attuned to each other there is the danger of working in silos. The more specialized and cohesive the team, isn’t it possible that they become disconnected from other groups – I’d imagine that this happens all too frequently and easily. When that happens, then the firm, in general, could lose opportunities (and maybe even lose business) because the lines no longer cross – except in official org charts, which few people actually pay attention to.

  2. 2 Blaine Collins March 2, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Thanks for the endorsement Natalie!

    IMHO, your acronym comment is spot on. We just forget that not everyone knows or speaks the industry jargon and office lingo.

    It also reminds that sometimes, short-hand can be used for the negative purpose of excluding people, possibly newcomers. I have little tolerance for that counter-productive behavior, but I know it happens.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 281,490 hits

