Captivate 2.0

Rocks!
We were slow to get this new version of the tool, which is too bad because I could have used it three months ago.

Check out this rough draft of a modularized simulation I created this weekend. The user can choose to view the entire simulation or just parts. Note: I created this rather quickly using the freeware CMAP tools as my subject matter. There are a few kinks I need to work out in the sim, but still I’m very pleased with some of the time-saving features in Captivate 2.0’s arsenal.

Click on the image to view the simulation (Adobe Flashplayer v. 8.0 is required)

simulationsample.gif

I am really digging some of the new features

  • The branching feature – you can create decision paths in tasks and scenario based simulations far more easily
  • Resizing feature – you can shoot in one resolution and then compress the shot simulation as needed. No more having to shrink your desktop resolution to get window size needed. CAUTIONS: Resizing does not resize the fonts in your captions. You have to apply new font sizes in the caption properties or reposition your captions so they point to the right area. Also the compression of the images may render them slightly fuzzy.
  • Property application – you can apply property changes to all objects in the simulation of the same type. Personally, I love having this freedom because when I create simulations I use two types of captions: 1.) Info captions which inform what’s happening or provide background information and knowledge needed to complete the simulation task 2.) Action captions which tell the user how to act during the simulation. In the past it’s been difficult to do a universal formatting change to captions because it would apply my changes to all and wipe out formatting at times.
3 Responses to “Captivate 2.0”


  1. 1 seacat February 20, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    love this demo–would really like to see this applied to a real scenario. can it cross reference and link to internal and external resources?

  2. 2 nkilkenny February 20, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    I don’t see why not if you’re using urls to link to these resources right. You can embed links in Captivate swfs (you just have to create a button or click box that links to that particular link).

  3. 3 jltitus February 22, 2007 at 4:56 am

    Can I tell you how much I LOVE LOVE LOOOVVVEEE Captivate 2.0. I’m so excited to be using it. The company I now work for uses Captivate and is upgrading to 2.0. I love the branching and a lot of the other features in 2.0 that weren’t there in the first itteration.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,322 hits

