Taking inventory of what I’ve learned this year

At the end of every year I try to assemble a set of lessons that I’ve learned.  I’m still working on this list (being reflective) so I may have to add or adjust before the end of the year. I try to use such a list to build a personal development plan of things I want to learn about or how to do for the following year.  I’ve divided the inventory of important things I’ve learned in to three categories:

  • About the world around me and the rules of the game
  • About me
  • Cool stuff

About the world around me and the rules of the game

  • You are nothing without your team. The more you learn to work well and play with others, the faster you’ll get things done.  Yes, it’s true that teams have their hiccups, but it’s better to face the probably of conflict up front and figure out how to work out problems
  • Organizations need to take stock in their leaders and make sure they have a diverse population of types of leaders. You need to have visionaries who really embrace change, but you need to have people who act as stabilizers/parents to make sure that we’re on the right path
  • Man is a political animal, so noted Aristotle, so you can never escape politics, so deal with it and learn to live despite it (sort of knew this but I re-visit the idea constantly living in Corporate America)
  • People inherently fear change – they need a little help, empathy and understanding, but you have to set clear expectations and goals for change to make it happen
  • Anyone can be creative or innovative. Everyone has the abilities to be creative or innovative in them

About me

  • Be aware of burn out (see Slow Leadership 3 part series linked below)
  • Love yourself and believe in your ideas
  • Respect others and understand their perspective
  • Never forget the importance of making connections (ideas, people, people-ideas)
  • Chill out
  • I’m an Idler, and that’s not such a bad thing, but I still need to benefit from the gifts of those who are more ‘process-oriented.’

Cool Stuff

  • We are on the verge of really using the power of the net for collaboration and sharing (but openess is a double-edged sword so we should consider the effects)
  • Web 2.0/Learning 2.0  is best fit for folks who have active learning style. There are portions of it (Blogging) that help reflectives like myself. But we need to figure out how to empower all learners with 2.0 power

Resources:

Against Burnout:

0 Responses to “Taking inventory of what I’ve learned this year”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 281,490 hits

