Image Therapy

I’ve developed this habit lately of going to the Morguefile to hunt for interesting pictures.   Sometimes I collect images and arrange them in themes by color or impressions. Sometimes I find that I need to look at images when I need to take a break from weeding through concepts and mapping processes. Sometimes looking at the images helps me build connections with my imagination which feel withered some of the more mind-numbing tasks do on a daily basis.

I found looking at the glass in the photo below extremely therapeutic.  Perhaps because it brought back some nostalgia from my childhood. I used to collect pieces of blue glass and items made of blue glass as a child. My fascination with the material  began when I heard that there were some hues of blue glass in stained glass windows in ancient cathedrals in Europe which could no longer be reproduced in the modern world. So in my mind the pieces of glass were little bits of treasure.  I still have a few bits of the stuff from my childhood collections floating around in small dishes and decorative bowls around my house. But the bits of blue glass find themselves in communities with broken shells or pieces of coral or lonely earrings without a mate.

Click to view larger image

Glass Photo and credits available here

I just realized that the image below actually matches the new color scheme for my blog skin. I’m actually debating whether to keep it because it’s perhaps a little to “West Elmy” for me.  Also, the style of not applying capitalization in bullets or bulleted items is starting to bother me.

2 Responses to “Image Therapy”


  1. 1 Tomas December 12, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    Congratulations. You are lucky guy. You use your images in various ways – according to the need of a current moment. In the meantime the most of the artists become the slaves of their own strokes and have just one style of handwriting.
    Art therapy uses the images according to concrete demands of a moment and that heals.
    While reading your post I have discovered the key to freedom: pictures are just the building bricks but not something of the greatest value of itself.

  2. 2 nkilkenny December 14, 2006 at 1:38 am

    Thanks for the note. I don’t create art… rather than writing. I’ve written mainly humorous pieces before and done some stand-up. But the visual has always been important to me. I used to keep notebooks of my visits to art museums… sort of observations blended into a scrapbook. Making a connection with art even if it is initially an aversive reaction has always been important to me. I can’t explain why. The image hunts help me think and connect my thoughts with my feelings.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,322 hits

