Future of training

I’m sure there there are tons of ‘with it’ people out there who have figured this out already but…

What is the future of training organizations as they exist today considering the possibilities with Web 2.0 and collaborative software?  Will the increasing democratization of content development and publishing affect how we develop and broker information? I just listened to a keynote presentation by a Google employee and he noted that one of Google’s main goals is to design tools that didn’t need training. As a consumer I think that’s an excellent idea. I believe that producing things that are so simple to use and learn how to use add to the ‘charm’ of a product. Imagine how I felt when I opened the box to my IKEA footstool and realized that I could put the darn thing together just by looking at a series of very simple pictures.  As a trainer, I still think design for use (without training)  is an excellent idea (even though it challenges job security for myself) because I have had to develop training for some tools and processes which I knew really didn’t need training if they had been designed properly to begin with. 

I suppose then as trainers we’re going to have to learn how to evolve or adapt if necessary. Though I seriously doubt that they’re going to be able to design enterprise application software or systems that we can mind meld with anytime soon.

Don’t have a lot of time to write about this today, but this is definitely a topic I want to pursue in the future.   George Bernard Shaw once note:

“A reasonable man adapts himself to his environment. An unreasonable man persists in attempting to adapt his environment to suit himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man.”

So maybe I need to grow some fins or gills?

2 Responses to “Future of training”


  1. 1 jltitus December 11, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    Natalie,

    I SO agree with you on this post. It would be great if training/instructional designers and software developers/programmers could work together and develop an application where the training is transparent. Wouldn’t it be nice if you could install a program or launch an application and it would be so intuative that you wouldn’t have to go to the useless help files or crack open a book or get training? Think of the cost savings to organizations that could do that? Yeah, there’s be some up front cost because it would probably take more development and time to design properly but the reduction of costs would be huge over the long term.

  2. 2 nkilkenny December 11, 2006 at 9:33 pm

    You’re right it costs a great deal up front to really fix design so it doesn’t need training. You need leadership and project managers who understand this vision.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 279,322 hits

