Sharepoint – Wiki Features

Continuing with my effort to give my impressions on the new features in Sharepoint, I’m going to just highlight some of the positives and negatives:

 Nice:

🙂 Image Library: Can use the “Image Library” feature to upload pictures…

🙂 You can Search for Images provided they have been tagged adequately with keywords by those who upload.

🙂 Can apply formatting and styles (colors, bold/italic)to text using WYSIWYG editing feature. No markup language or coding to learn.

🙂 Adding images or links is easy (if you are already familiar with standard MS icons)…

SharepointWikiEdit

Not so Nice:

😦 Finding out how to start a wiki is just as hard as figuring out how to start a blog in MS Sharepoint.  (You have to go to Site Actions –>Create –>Sites and Workspaces.) NOT INTUITIVE!!

😦 It took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to create a new wiki page… &*$@!!! This is what drives me nuts about MS. It’s not exactly clear from the image below what I’m suppose to click to to create a new page? 

SharepointMenu

😦 Don’t see any tracking features that tell me who has edited my page or when. Or a rollback feature that allows me to change my page back? Or again, maybe I just have to dig deeper.

😦 You need to copy our Image URL to a clipboard to copy it to the Image link if you want to insert an image. Of course you can do what I always do which is to have two versions of the Sharepoint site open and then cut and paste the link directly from the page with the Image Library link to the wiki page I’m editing.

To be continued…..

2 Responses to “Sharepoint – Wiki Features”


  1. 1 jenbeckwith March 6, 2007 at 1:17 am

    To view the version history and do a rollback, Click Wiki Pages > select your Wiki from the list of Document Libraries. This will give you a view of the documents in a list format. From the dropdown menu associated with the document, select Version History. This will give you a list of the versions and the changes associated with each version. Select the required version by clicking on the date hyperlink, slect Restore This Version.

    I hope this helps, Jen

  2. 2 jendsley March 10, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    It gives me hope to see that others struggle with sharepoint; adding images to sharepoint blogs is the worst.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 277,930 hits

