Creativity Exercise: Circle Opportunities

David Owens has his students come up with as many uses for a paperclip

David Owens has his students come up with as many uses for a paperclip

I saw this somewhere, maybe it was part of a TED talk where people are given paper with a lot of circles on it and then are asked to draw as many pictures as they can incorporating or using these circles.

The Paper Clip exercise shared by Prof. Owens in this week’s lectures (from Leading Strategic Innovation in Organizations) inspired me to create my own worksheet for this activity. I’ll share it with you here.  For those of you who are not taking the class. Owens asked us to take a paper clip and a piece of paper and list as many uses as you can think of for a paperclip. Strangely, I haven’t kept paper clips in the house forever so I could NOT find one, but I made due with my imagination.

Print a few of these pages for yourself and go ahead and give yourself about 5 minutes to complete the exercise.  Go ahead if you’d like and comment on your results or observations.

  • How many recognizable options did you create?
  • What did you notice about the flow of your ideas? What do you think limited you?
  • How is this similar and different to Owen’s paperclilp exercise?

Click the link below to open the worksheet.

Circles

 

Circles

0 Responses to “Creativity Exercise: Circle Opportunities”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 245,236 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

