Oni, Accordions and Sheep… Oh my!

My husband thought I could use a night out to see the theater this weekend and he was right. 

I’ve always been a great fan of puppetshows and the art of puppetry ever since I saw “The Magic Egg” fairy tale performed at my elementary school. It was no surprise that the Vertigo of Sheep offered some needed release through both comedy, absurdity and empathy for the human condition. Plus, I don’t care what century you’re in, watching puppets punching each other can just be plain funny.

The puppetry itself and the movements of the very talented puppeteer reminded me of the magical Circus created by Alexander Calder. The exhibits of the whimsical creatures created by Calder and the film depicting their performance is to this day one of my most favorite exhibits at the Whitney Museum in New York.

Thingumajig Theater: http://www.thingumajig.info/what/vertigo/info.html

On a side note, inspired by the performance, I went and bought an inexpensive ukelele and chord guide and instruction booklet.  It’s been sometime since I’ve picked up an instrument, and somehow, it felt good.

Nuggets:

2 Responses to “Oni, Accordions and Sheep… Oh my!”


  1. 1 kait schott June 13, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    this is the first time I’ve happened upon something fun via the new ‘possibly related’ feature. What a nice way to meet a wordpress ‘neighbor’!

  2. 2 nkilkenny June 13, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Nice to meet you! I really enjoyed that performance. I hope to see more like it. I think I’ve always loved puppetry.


Leave a Reply

Why?

My place outside of work to explore and make connections with the ideas and things (sometimes work-related) that I'm passionate about.

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 246,241 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

